PDA

View Full Version : Smoking after wisdom teeth surgery

nd4snd
05-10-2011, 05:56 AM
So, I've put off taking out my wisdom teeth until the absolute last minute, because I don't do well with pain/surgery. I wanted to know, for those that have had them out, how long did you wait before smoking hookah again? The paper they gave me said to wait 3 days before smoking cigs again, does the same thing apply with hookah?

Opinions/advice, please! :cursing:

bigslim3k
05-10-2011, 06:44 AM
yes the same thing applies. the problem is dry socket. basically what happens is the sucking action from smoking will pull the blood clot out before the wound begins to heal and it will get infected and turn out to be a nightmare. best thing to do is wait a week or so after getting your teeth pulled to make sure things are healing well. you can still get dry socket up to 2 weeks after the extraction but i dont think its very common. i am not a doctor so follow what ever advise they give you. dry socket is something you dont want. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alveolar_osteitis

Tremendoustomato
05-10-2011, 07:49 AM
Yeah don't bother trying to smoke cause you'll regret it. Also i wouldn't worry about wanting to smoke, you will probably be in no mood to do anything.

kaldonia
05-10-2011, 08:05 AM
It will go by quick!
Day 1: You'll sleep
Day 2: You'll want to eat, but how? Milkshakes on a spoon dude!
Day 3: After swapping out bloody gauze for two days, your mouth is gonna be dry.
Day 4: Soft pulls on your late afternoon me time!

Like the tomato man says, you're not gonna feel like it!

UncleGio
05-10-2011, 08:06 AM
I Waited about 5 days. Its the pull factor that can make your stitches come out, if you got stitches.

mavsfan31
05-10-2011, 08:27 AM
What slim said is right.

I'd wait four or five days, to be on the safe side.

hookah_huffman
05-10-2011, 10:30 AM
I agree, I gave it almost a week before I began smoking after having my teeth pulled...

Yeags
05-10-2011, 11:00 AM